Best Cordless Snow Shovels 2026–27: How to Choose (20V vs 24V vs Dual-Battery)

October 26, 2026
Best Cordless Snow Shovels 2026–27: How to Choose (20V vs 24V vs Dual-Battery)
Published on  Updated on  

WHEN IT COMES TO SNOW, GO WITH JOE®. A cordless snow shovel is the grab-n-go middle ground between a hand shovel and a full snow blower. There's no cord to drag, no gas to mix and no pull-start. You click in a battery, squeeze the trigger and clear the deck, steps, walkway or patio before the coffee's done.

The best cordless snow shovel for you depends on how much snow you get, how much ground you clear, and which battery tools are already in your garage. This guide walks through what matters, then lays out the specs side by side so you can pick with confidence.

The short answer: which cordless snow shovel fits your job

  • Lightest grab-n-go for steps, decks and porches: the Snow Joe X20 20V cordless snow shovel. It weighs 8.4 lbs and has a brushless motor, a 10" x 5" cut and a 45° directional chute.
  • Deeper cut for sidewalks and walkways: the Snow Joe 24V-SS11. It cuts an 11" x 7" path, weighs under 11 lbs, and runs on the 24V IONMAX battery that works across 150+ Snow Joe + Sun Joe tools.
  • Widest path in the lineup: the Snow Joe 24V-SS13 bundle (24V-SS13-TV1). It cuts 13" x 6", moves up to 300 lbs of snow per minute, and comes with a cover, an IceDozer® scraper and a 3-year extended warranty.
  • Want two batteries in the box? The X20 kit with 2 x 4.0-Ah batteries lets you swap and keep going.

How to choose a battery powered snow shovel

Voltage and battery platform (20V vs 24V vs dual-battery and higher-voltage)

Voltage is part of the story, but the battery platform usually matters more. It decides which batteries you can share, which chargers you need, and what else in the shed runs on the same pack.

  • 20V ECOSHARP® (Snow Joe X20): a compact, lightweight platform with a brushless motor. X20 batteries are not compatible with 24V IONMAX batteries or chargers.
  • 24V IONMAX® (Snow Joe 24V-SS10, SS11, SS13): one battery runs 150+ Snow Joe + Sun Joe tools, so the battery from your mower, trimmer or blower can power your snow shovel.
  • Dual-battery and higher-voltage platforms: some shovels run on two batteries at once, like VEVOR's 40V model (2 x 20V). Others use a single higher-voltage pack, like EGO's 56V and Greenworks' 40V and 80V shovels. Check the weight with the battery installed, because bigger packs usually add pounds.

A note on voltage labels: our product pages state peak no-load voltage. For example, 24V packs run at 21.6V nominal under typical load, and 20V packs at 18V nominal. Other brands may label voltage differently, so compare clearing specs, not just the number on the battery.

Clearing width and depth

Width is how much ground each pass covers. Depth is how much snow the shovel cuts into in one pass.

  • 10" wide suits steps and narrow paths. 12–13" wide covers walkways in fewer passes.
  • Cordless snow shovels are built for light-to-moderate snow, roughly up to the depth of the cut (5–7" across the Snow Joe lineup). For deeper snow, take it in layers: skim the top, then work down to the ground. If you regularly get heavy, deep storms on a full driveway, a cordless snow blower is the better tool.

Run time and battery size (Ah)

Amp-hours (Ah) measure how much energy the battery holds. More Ah generally means more snow cleared per charge.

  • Snow Joe states clearing capacity per charge on several models. The 24V-SS11 (4.0 Ah) moves up to 1,650 lbs per charge, and the 24V-SS11-XR (5.0 Ah) up to 2,025 lbs per charge. The 24V-SS13-MAX lists up to 30 continuous minutes of runtime on its 4.0-Ah battery. Plowing capacity and runtime are approximations and vary with snow conditions.
  • Two-battery kits (X20 2 x 4.0 Ah, 2 x 5.0 Ah or 3 x 5.0 Ah) let you swap and keep clearing.

Weight and handling

You'll carry the shovel up and down steps, so every pound counts. Across Snow Joe's cordless shovels, weights run from 8.4 lbs (X20, single battery) to 14 lbs (24V-SS13 with the 5.0-Ah battery). Look for an adjustable auxiliary handle so you can stand upright instead of bending.

Throw distance and chute control

The shovels in this guide list throw distances of 18–20 ft. Directional control decides where the snow lands: the X20 has a 45° directional chute, so you can send snow left or right.

Warranty

Check the term before you buy. The X20 line carries a 1-year warranty. The 24V IONMAX shovels carry a 2-year warranty, and the 24V-SS13-TV1 bundle includes a 3-year extended warranty.

Snow Joe cordless snow shovels compared

Specs are from each product's shopjoe.com page. Prices were checked Oct 26, 2026 and may change.

Model (SKU) Platform Cut (W x D) Throw Weight Battery in box Stated capacity / runtime Warranty Price
X20 20V, 4.0 Ah (X20-SNOW-4A) 20V ECOSHARP, brushless 10" x 5" up to 18 ft, 45° chute 8.4 lbs 1 x 4.0 Ah not stated 1 yr $159.99
X20 20V, 5.0 Ah (X20-SNOW-5A) 20V ECOSHARP, brushless 10" x 5" up to 18 ft 8.4 lbs 1 x 5.0 Ah not stated 1 yr $169.99
X20 20V, 2 x 4.0 Ah (X20-SNOW-4AX2) 20V ECOSHARP, brushless 10" x 5" up to 18 ft 11.8 lbs (with two 4.0-Ah batteries) 2 x 4.0 Ah not stated 1 yr $189.99
24V-SS10-XR 24V IONMAX 10" x 6" up to 20 ft 10.9 lbs 1 x 5.0 Ah up to 2,040 lbs per charge 2 yr $159.99
24V-SS11 24V IONMAX, 400 W 11" x 7" up to 20 ft under 11 lbs 1 x 4.0 Ah up to 1,650 lbs per charge 2 yr $159.99
24V-SS11-XR 24V IONMAX, 400 W 11" x 7" up to 20 ft 10.6 lbs 1 x 5.0 Ah up to 2,025 lbs per charge 2 yr $169.99
24V-SS13-XR 24V IONMAX 13" x 6" up to 20 ft 14 lbs 1 x 5.0 Ah up to 300 lbs per minute 2 yr $229.99
24V-SS13-TV1 bundle 24V IONMAX, 400 W 13" x 6" up to 20 ft 14 lbs 1 x 4.0 Ah + cover + IceDozer® up to 300 lbs per minute 3-yr extended $199.99
24V-SS13-MAX bundle 24V IONMAX, 400 W 13" x 6" up to 20 ft 13 lbs 1 x 4.0 Ah + holders + cover up to 30 continuous min; ~1 hr 50 min recharge 2 yr $299.99

X20 kits with extra batteries and accessories: X20 + cover + ice scraper (X20-SNOW-TV1) ($199.99), 2 x 5.0 Ah + cover + scraper (BDL-A0315) ($249.99) and 3 x 5.0 Ah + cover + scraper (BDL-A0317) ($299.99). Keep any shovel dry between storms with the universal snow shovel cover (fits 10–13" shovels).

How other brands' cordless snow shovels compare

We get asked about other cordless snow shovels, especially ones trending on TikTok Shop. Below is what each seller lists. We report only what the seller states; where a spec isn't listed, we say so.

Spec SEESE 21V Cordless Snow Shovel (2 x 3.6 Ah kit) VEVOR 40V 13.5" Cordless Snow Shovel VEVOR 20V 12" Cordless Snow Shovel
Voltage / battery in box 21V; 2 x 3.6 Ah 40V (2 x 20V 4 Ah) 20V; 1 x 4 Ah
Clearing width 9.84" 13.5" 12"
Clearing depth 6" not stated as depth; intake height 11.42" not stated as depth; intake height 7.87"
Throw distance up to 18 ft 19.69 ft (6 m) 19.69 ft
Weight 8.8 lbs 16.89 lbs 10.8 lbs
Motor 2,400 RPM; wattage not stated by seller; brushless/brushed not stated by seller 1,400 W, 1,900 RPM no-load 600 W, 2,200 RPM
Runtime not stated by seller 20–25 min 15–20 min
Warranty not stated by seller not stated on product page not stated on product page
Chute / extras 180° adjustable handle; foldable/extendable 60° chute; LED light 60° chute; LED light
Price seen $194.87 on the SEESE Store listing; $376.99 on the SEESE OS listing (TikTok Shop, 10/26/2026) $136.99 (vevor.com) $107.90 (vevor.com)
Reviews shown 9 reviews (SEESE OS listing); 0 reviews (SEESE Store listing) 4.6 stars, 8 reviews (TikTok Shop, VEVOR Store) 5.0 stars, 2 reviews (TikTok Shop, VEVOR Garden Store)
Where sold TikTok Shop vevor.com, TikTok Shop vevor.com, TikTok Shop

EGO and Greenworks. EGO's own site showed its snow shovels as "Coming Soon" with no price on 10/26/2026, so EGO prices and availability below are from Amazon. Greenworks figures are from Greenworks' own store. Multi-head attachment systems aren't included.

Spec EGO 12" Snow Shovel Kit (SNS1201) EGO 12" Snow Shovel, tool only (SNS1200) Greenworks 40V 12" LED Snow Shovel Kit (2617802) Greenworks 80V 12" LED Snow Shovel Kit (2618002)
Voltage / battery in box 56V; 1 x 2.5 Ah + 210 W charger 56V; no battery or charger 40V; 1 x 4.0 Ah + charger 80V; 1 x 4.0 Ah + 6 A charger
Clearing width 12" 12" 12" 12"
Clearing depth not stated not stated 8" varies by source
Throw distance up to 25 ft up to 25 ft 25 ft 25 ft
Weight 16.7 lbs with 2.5-Ah battery not stated not stated not stated
Runtime not stated not stated not stated (recharge 120 min) not stated (recharge 40 min)
Warranty 5-yr tool, 3-yr battery not stated separately 3-yr limited, tool & battery 4-yr limited
Chute / extras 60° directional dial 60° directional dial LED; directional vanes LED
Price seen $359.00 (Amazon) $279.00 (Amazon) $239.99 (greenworkstools.com) $359.99 (greenworkstools.com)
Reviews shown 4.4 stars, 202 ratings (Amazon) 4.3 stars, 122 ratings (Amazon) 5.0 stars, 1 rating (Amazon) 3.0 stars, 2 ratings (Amazon)
Where sold Amazon; EGO site showed "Coming Soon" Amazon ("usually ships within 8 to 14 days"); EGO site showed "Coming Soon" greenworkstools.com, Amazon greenworkstools.com, Amazon

For reference, Snow Joe's X20 kit on TikTok Shop shows 4.2 stars from 458 reviews (listing, read 10/26/2026), and the 24V-SS13-TV1 bundle shows 4.0 stars from 1,212 ratings on Amazon (read 10/24/2026).

Prices and specs change. Check each seller's page before you buy. SEESE®, VEVOR®, EGO® and Greenworks® are trademarks of their respective owners. They're named here only to identify their products and don't imply any affiliation or endorsement.

Our picks by job

  • Steps, decks and porches (light snow, lots of carrying): X20 20V. It weighs 8.4 lbs and has a 45° directional chute. Shop the X20
  • Sidewalks and walkways (a deeper cut): 24V-SS11 or 24V-SS11-XR, with an 11" x 7" path. Shop the 24V-SS11
  • Fewer passes on wider paths: a 24V-SS13 model with a 13" x 6" cut. Shop the 24V-SS13-TV1 bundle
  • Already own Sun Joe 24V tools: any 24V IONMAX shovel, so your batteries do double duty.
  • Big driveway or frequent heavy snow: step up to a cordless snow blower.

Cordless snow shovel FAQ

What is the best cordless snow shovel?

It depends on the job. For steps and decks, a light shovel (around 8–11 lbs) with a 10–11" cut is the easiest to carry. For longer walkways, a 13" cut means fewer passes. If you already own battery tools, a shovel on the same battery platform saves you buying a second battery system. Compare width, depth, weight, battery and warranty in the tables above.

Do cordless snow shovels really work?

Yes, for the jobs they're built for: light-to-moderate snow on decks, steps, patios and sidewalks. They cut a set depth per pass (5–7" across Snow Joe's lineup), so for deeper snow you work in layers. For full driveways or heavy, deep storms, a snow blower is the better fit.

How long does a cordless snow shovel battery last?

It varies with battery size and snow conditions. Snow Joe's 24V-SS13-MAX lists up to 30 continuous minutes on a 4.0-Ah battery. The 24V-SS11-XR (5.0 Ah) lists up to 2,025 lbs of snow per charge. These figures are approximations. A second battery is the easiest way to extend a session.

What's the difference between a 20V and a 24V snow shovel?

They're different battery platforms. Snow Joe's X20 shovels run on 20V ECOSHARP batteries, and the 24V-SS models run on 24V IONMAX batteries, which work with 150+ Snow Joe + Sun Joe tools. The two aren't cross-compatible, so choose the platform that matches the tools you have or plan to buy.

Is an electric snow shovel the same as a battery snow shovel?

"Electric snow shovel" covers both corded models, which plug into an outlet through an extension cord, and cordless battery-powered models. Corded shovels run as long as they're plugged in. Cordless shovels trade a set runtime for no cord to manage.

Is SEESE's 21V snow shovel worth it?

It depends on what matters most to you. Per its TikTok Shop listings (read 10/26/2026), the SEESE 21V kit includes two 3.6-Ah batteries and lists a 9.84" x 6" cut, up to 18 ft throw and 8.8 lbs. The seller doesn't state runtime, motor wattage or a warranty term. The listings showed 9 reviews and 0 reviews when we read them. On 10/26/2026 it was $194.87 on the SEESE Store listing and $376.99 on the SEESE OS listing. Compare the specs in the table above, check the seller's current listing, and pick the one that fits your job.

How does VEVOR's 40V cordless snow shovel compare?

Per vevor.com (read 10/26/2026), VEVOR's 40V model runs on two 20V 4-Ah batteries and lists a 13.5" clearing width, a 19.69 ft throw, 16.89 lbs, a 1,400 W motor and 20–25 minutes of runtime. It was $136.99 on vevor.com that day, and the product page doesn't state a warranty term. Snow Joe's closest model, the 24V-SS13-XR, lists a 13" x 6" cut, up to 20 ft throw, 14 lbs and a 2-year warranty at $229.99 on shopjoe.com (10/26/2026).

What about EGO and Greenworks cordless snow shovels?

EGO's 12" Snow Shovel Kit (SNS1201) runs on EGO's 56V platform and includes a 2.5-Ah battery and charger. EGO lists a 12" clearing width, up to 25 ft throw, 16.7 lbs with the battery and a 5-year tool / 3-year battery warranty, and doesn't state clearing depth or runtime. On 10/26/2026 EGO's site showed the shovel as "Coming Soon". On Amazon, the kit was $359.00 and the tool-only SNS1200 was $279.00. Greenworks sells two 12" shovel kits on its own store, each with a 4.0-Ah battery. The 40V 2617802 lists an 8" clearing depth, 25 ft throw and a 3-year limited tool and battery warranty at $239.99. The 80V 2618002 lists a 25 ft throw and a 4-year limited warranty at $359.99, and its clearing depth varies by source. Greenworks doesn't state weight or runtime for either. Compare the specs in the tables above and check each seller's current page.

How do I store a cordless snow shovel?

Store it clean and dry, ideally under a cover. Snow Joe's universal snow shovel cover fits 10–13" shovels. Bring batteries indoors between uses, following the product manual's storage guidance.

Shop the lineup

GET EQUIPPED® this winter. Shop all cordless & electric snow blowers + power shovels